Zero Waste.

Lately I’ve been doing a lot of reflecting on waste and how much waste I create. I look around my bedroom and see all the unnecessary shit I’ve bought that I always just end up throwing out. Clothes, makeup, homewares, CDs, books, everything. While I’m not necessarily committed to being 100% zero waste (I gag in awe over bloggers who can fit their entire year’s worth of rubbish in a jar), I’m beginning to be very conscious of how I use everyday items and what more I could be doing to help heal this planet of ours.

2:1.

My first goal that I’m committed to achieve is a 2:1 ratio of recycling to rubbish. That means needing to empty my recycling bin twice as often as my rubbish. How am I going to do this? Firstly, I’m committed to buy as many recyclable products as possible, such as bamboo toothbrushes and taking along my own reusable steel straws on a night out to save using a handful of plastic straws throughout the evening.

No packaging.

In addition to buying more things that can be recycled, I’m also beginning to choose products that have recyclable packaging, or even no packaging at all. For example, I’ve started to ditch shower liquid soap in large plastic bottles and choosing packaging-free bar soaps instead. I’d also like to try buying dry foods like quinoa, pasta, and rice in bulk using recycled paper bags rather than packaged off the shelf. Not only that, I’ve picked up an awesome fabric bag that folds up super small to keep in my handbag for when I go grocery shopping; it looks small, but actually fits quite a few groceries in it. Every plastic shopping bag I don’t bring home is a win!

Mindful purchasing.

Another point is only buying things that I am 100% sure I am going to like… things I am certain (or, as certain as can be) I will not just throw away after one use because I made a poor purchasing decision. For example, I don’t remember the last item of clothing I bought (but I’m guessing it was the dresses you can see in my Melbourne blog). This point is also helped by the fact that I absolutely despise buying random decorative items that have no actual purpose other than looking nice. I very much appreciate receiving decorative items as gifts, but I just can’t bring myself to buy them.

Fix, Donate, Sell.

I think I’ve become an eBay addict – this past year I have sold so many clothes on eBay that otherwise would have just gone in the bin. There is also a charity thrift store a 5 minute walk away from my office that I could commit to donating unwanted clothing to. Not only would the clothes go to another home who would love them like I never could, the money from sales would go directly to that charity. Win win! Finally, although I am no seamstress, I have been able to do a shoddy DIY hand-stitch repair of some handbags and tshirts, so that is going to make a huge difference!

Watch this space to see how I make small changes in my lifestyle to help minimise my waste! Even though for some items it’s a bit too late now (like a bar soap that I’ve already finished), I’ll start posting up hauls and photos of my everyday trash as a way to remain accountable for my choices!

Leave a Reply

