Stress Less.

Every time I think about stress – what it is and what it does to my mind and body – I cannot help but think of Reynholm from IT Crowd’s “War On Stress.” You can catch that iconic scene here (but just a heads up, it features some pretty strong MAMIL) – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=elrV-oHeSjE

How do you know when you’re stressed? 

I, for one, always know I’ve had a stressful day if there is searing, burning pain in my fingers and toes because I’ve bitten or picked at them til they bleed. I don’t necessarily know I’m biting or picking at the time, but I certainly know when I get home at the end of the day and look at the disgusting state of my sore nails.

 

Do you think there’s a difference between being escalated by stress and being escalated by anxiety?

I’m not sure about this one. I know that when I feel anxious, I have this deep seated need to be forgotten. I turn off all my social media, turn off my phone, cut my hair off (literally), go through my room and throw things out… When I’m feeling anxious I have a desperate craving to be smaller. Be less. Maybe that’s because I think that’s what I deserve? Today is not like that.

What do you do to unwind and calm down? 

I don’t think I’ve really figured this one out yet. Today (thankfully) I have the day off work, and I’ve spent the day with my phone turned off, curled up on the couch watching trash TV on E! and eating chocolate biscuits. I know that’s definitely not the healthiest way to deal with it, and now I just feel sick.

It’s raining so I can’t go out for a walk. I’ve already had a long shower this morning so I don’t want to have another or perhaps run a lavender oil bath in fear of using all the hot water for the day. I tried doing some relaxing yoga, but it was difficult because my bleeding toenails hurt so much.

What are your warning signs to know that something isn’t right? What healthy strategies do you use to relax and unwind?

 

 

Leave a Reply

