Mecca Lip De Luscious

[Spotlight On]:

Mecca Lip De Lucious Treatment (night)

$32 AUD

I’m throwing this out. I know it’s a cult “holy grail” Mecca Cosmetica product, but mine is going in the bin. Why?

Well, firstly, it’s definitely expired, ugh. When I first bought it, it smelled deliciously like fairy floss and creaming soda. Now it just smells like musty vagina and it does not taste pleasant on my lips at all.

But I also just don’t really like to use it, which I guess is why I’ve had it so long for it to expire in the first place. Yes, it does make my lips feel very moisturised and soft, but I don’t like the application or the texture. Specifically;

  • I apply it with my finger straight from the pot. It’s a very thick consistency and is difficult to rub in. I have to wipe my finger on a tissue or towel after I use it and I can feel it sitting on my lips for hours afterwards, even after I wake up in the morning. I guess this is just a personal preference of mine because I hate the feeling of products sitting on top of my skin and not soaking in straight away.
  • It’s not a “pop it on and get on with your day” type of product. Because of the thick texture and ingredients, I never fail to wake up with stains all over my pillows in the morning. So why not put it on in the morning? Well, other than the fact that it is guaranteed to get on my tshirt and stain that too, I also find it really difficult to apply other makeup around it. Lipstick is an instant no-go, and it always somehow gets onto my foundation brush or beautyblender and it’s just a disaster.

If you’re the type that hates thick skincare and overnight treatments, you’ll hate this. But if you’re the type who doesn’t mind (or even prefers) skincare products you put on before bed and work their magic overnight, you’ll probably love it.

Whatever you do, just don’t hold onto it for as long as I did… uggggh.

Leave a Reply

